fbpx

Digital innovation?

L’innovation digitale-cover (1)

These days, it's almost impossible to talk about innovation without talking about new digital technology. With the development of the Internet, the “Old World” as we have known it is gradually disappearing, giving way to a “modern” world where digital is becoming the new Wild West. In the past, innovation was confined to the R&D department. The innovation was generally technical and a patent was often filed. This innovation provided a competitive advantage over a period of time until competitors produced the same thing at a lower price. The advantage was therefore not sustainable.

Digital innovation is not located at the level of a department of the company, but at all levels. Still too few French-speaking SMEs integrate the concept of digital innovation into their strategy. However, a digital innovation makes it possible to create a sustainable competitive advantage and sometimes a monopoly situation (GAFA). Dematerialize products, understand customer expectations, interact with customers via a platform, use artificial intelligence to automate processes, etc. Revise your business model in order to rethink it “digital”, “customer centric” and “Experience” are the foundations of digital innovation. The first step towards digital innovation is digital transformation. Indeed, on a scale of 1 to 4, Swiss SMEs are around 2 and nearly 80% of SMEs declare that digital will have a major impact on their activity in the next 5 years. This is why Geekworkers Sàrl supports its clients in the process of digital transformation and digital innovation at affordable prices that make digitalization accessible to all. Digital, which was previously considered a support for business strategy, is becoming its driving force. Digital innovation is an ongoing process that must be initiated and supported by the highest management of a company. In addition, digital innovation often involves a total questioning of the business model, but also a radical change in the structure and practices of the organization. Digital innovation presupposes a successful digital transformation beforehand.

A solution to stand out from the competition

A concrete example of the importance of digital innovation: the GAFA (Google, Apple, Facebook and Amazon) which are the most powerful players and which are in the process of “dominating” the current world. Digital innovation is not unanimous. Some managers still prefer to run their businesses “the old fashioned way”. They see the technology as a simple tool and that its use could not make the difference with the competitors. What they do not know is that 20 years ago, to have real serious competition in a new sector of activity after an innovation, you had to wait at least 5 years. Currently, in less than a year, it is possible to have a strong competitor who will be difficult to rule out. Digital enables the acquisition of a sustainable competitive advantage.
L’innovation digitale ? - image GeekWorkers - 1

They understood the users' need. The main rule: the user is in the center. There are many search engines on the web, but why is Google attracting 88, 6% Internet users? Apple products are expensive, but in Switzerland alone, 40% of mobile users own an iPhone. In 2020, Facebook recorded a connection rate of 1.8 billion users per day, across the world. Amazon has over 350 million active user accounts worldwide. These figures prove to us that digitization is an essential element for development.

These GAFAs have implemented a digital strategy that touches the hearts of users. Let us take the example of Apple again. By the way, the Californian giant doesn't just sell a smartphone. It also sells an unforgettable experience that users can have by purchasing one of their products and using the applications on IOS. In this case, it is the software that makes the difference, but not the product.

Digital innovation: a strategy that attracts executives

How do you explain that the biggest taxi company owns no vehicles, that one of the biggest vacation rental companies does not own any buildings and that the biggest online business in the world has no inventory? At Tesla, for example, they revolutionized the automotive world thanks to unparalleled electric batteries and mastery of software.

This technological breakthrough makes this company a pioneer in digital transformation in the automotive sector. It is good to note that in terms of vehicle production, Tesla is nothing compared to the competition. Once again, digital innovation scores a point.

L’innovation digitale ? - image GeekWorkers - 3
What all these companies have in common: Digital innovation is driven by managers. For example, it produces
30,000 vehicles per month against 8,500,000 vehicles per year at the Toyota group, but it is this digital innovation that has placed it at the center of investors' interest and its valuation to exceed that of the world's largest manufacturers in just a few minutes. years. It is always thanks to this concept that several competitors admire Tesla. Some even claim that Tesla is ahead of them, like Markus Duessman, CEO of Audi who says that: “Tesla is two years ahead in terms of IT and software architecture, as well as in the field of autonomous driving ”. What all these companies have in common:
Digital innovation is driven by managers.

Why should we start digital innovation?

With the appearance of young startups, the vulnerability to disruption index of several “old school” companies is obvious. Indeed, startups generally have a predisposition to apply the principles of digital innovation due to their agile organization. Agility is an inseparable mindset from digital innovation. A significant risk of disruption is emerging not only at the level of Swiss SMEs, but also at the level of the country in international comparison. Switzerland would be 20 years behind and this could have catastrophic consequences for companies that do not join the “movement”. 
L’innovation digitale ? - image GeekWorkers - 5

Studies have shown that 63% companies in 82 countries (including Switzerland) are exposed to high disruption risks and 44% are vulnerable and could disappear if they do not quickly initiate their digital transformation.

The lack of digitalization will cause several companies to disappear within ten years. They will have a much narrower field of action and will be able to target their customers less and less. Because customers are digitizing themselves much more
quickly. Thanks to digital innovation, everything becomes instantaneous and traceable. Users will therefore tend to lean towards a modern business. “Traditional” companies will literally be wiped out of the business world.
Currently, 4.79 billion people are connected to the internet. In 10 years, that number has climbed to 166%. This shows whether we like it or not, that digital transformation is a must if we want to stay in the game!
Of course, digital innovation has caused certain activities such as the primary sector (agriculture, fishing, etc.) to fall, but it has also given rise to the tertiary sector (sales, service, etc.). In the case of Switzerland, the tertiary sector currently represents more than 75% of the economy. This growth has created a number of new jobs that did not exist before. This phenomenon was called by economist Joseph Schumpeter during the 20th century: “creative destruction”.
Open chat

fbpx

L’innovation digitale ?

L’innovation digitale-cover (1)

De nos jours, il est quasiment impossible de parler d’innovation sans parler de nouvelle technologie numérique. Avec le développement d’Internet, “l’Ancien Monde” tel que nous l’avons connu est en train de disparaître petit à petit, pour laisser place à un monde “moderne” où le digital devient le nouveau Far West. Par le passé, l’innovation était cantonnée au département de R&D. L’innovation était généralement technique et un brevet était souvent déposé. Cette innovation apportait un avantage concurrentiel durant une certaine période de temps jusqu’à ce que des compétiteurs produisent la même chose avec un prix inférieur. L’avantage n’était donc pas durable.

L’ innovation digitale quant à elle ne se situe pas au niveau d’un département de l’entreprise, mais à tous les échelons. Encore trop peu de PME romandes intègrent le concept d’innovation digitale dans leur stratégie. Pourtant, une innovation numérique permet de créer un avantage compétitif durable et parfois une situation monopolistique (GAFA). Dématérialiser les produits, comprendre les attentes de la clientèle, interagir avec ses clients via une plateforme, utiliser l’intelligence artificielle afin d’automatiser des processus…Mettre à plat son business modèle afin de le repenser “digital” , “customer centric” et “expérience” voilà les fondements de l’innovation digitale. Le premier pas vers l’innovation numérique est la transformation digitale. En effet, sur une échelle de 1 à 4, les PME suisses se situent autour de 2 et près de 80% des PME déclarent que le digital aura un impact majeur sur leur activité dans les 5 prochaines années. C’est pour cela que Geekworkers Sàrl accompagne ses clients dans le processus de transformation numérique et d’innovation digitale à des tarifs abordables qui rendent la digitalisation accessible à tous. Le digital qui auparavant était considéré comme un support pour la stratégie business en devient le moteur. L’innovation digitale est un processus continu qui doit être initié et soutenu par la plus haute direction d’une compagnie. De plus, l’innovation digitale passe souvent par la remise en question totale du business modèle, mais aussi par un changement radical de la structure et des pratiques de l’organisation. L’innovation numérique suppose une transformation digitale réussie au préalable.

Une solution pour se démarquer de la concurrence

Un exemple concret sur l’importance de l’innovation digitale : les GAFA (Google, Apple, Facebook et Amazon) qui sont les acteurs les plus puissants et qui sont en train de “dominer” le monde actuel. L’innovation numérique ne fait l’unanimité. Certains managers préfèrent encore diriger leurs entreprises “à l’ancienne”. Ils considèrent la technologie comme un simple outil et que son utilisation ne pourrait pas faire la différence avec les concurrents. Ce qu’ils ignorent, c’est qu’il y a 20 ans, pour avoir une vraie concurrence sérieuse dans un nouveau secteur d’activité après une innovation, il fallait attendre au moins 5 ans. Actuellement, en moins d’un an, il est possible d’avoir un concurrent qui pèse et qui sera difficile à écarter. Le digital permet d’acquérir un avantage concurrentiel durable.
L’innovation digitale ? - image GeekWorkers - 1

Ils ont compris le besoin des utilisateurs. La règle principale : l’utilisateur est au centre. Sur le web il y a de nombreux moteurs de recherche, mais pourquoi Google attire 88, 6% des internautes? Les produits Apple coûtent les yeux de la tête, mais rien qu’en Suisse, 40% des utilisateurs mobiles possèdent un iPhone. En 2020, Facebook enregistre un taux de connexion de 1,8 milliard d’utilisateurs par jour, à travers le monde. Amazon possède plus de 350 millions de comptes utilisateurs actifs, au niveau mondial. Ces chiffres nous prouvent que la digitalisation est un élément indispensable au développement.

Ces GAFA ont mis en place une stratégie digitale qui touche le cœur des utilisateurs. Reprenons l’exemple d’ Apple. Au fait, le géant californien ne vend pas seulement un smartphone. Il vend également une expérience inoubliable que les utilisateurs peuvent vivre en se procurant un de leurs produits et grâce à l’utilisation des applications sur IOS. Dans ce cas, c’est le software qui fait la différence, mais pas le produit.

Innovation numérique : une stratégie qui attire les dirigeants

Comment expliquer que la plus grande compagnie de taxi ne possède aucun véhicule, qu’une des plus grandes sociétés de location d’appartement de vacance ne possède aucun immeuble et que le plus gros commerce en ligne du monde ne possède aucun stock ? Chez Tesla par exemple, ils ont révolutionné le monde de l’automobile grâce à des batteries électriques inégalées et une maîtrise du software.

Cette avancée technologique fait de cette société la pionnière en matière de transformation numérique dans le secteur automobile. Il est bon de noter qu’en termes de production de véhicules, Tesla n’est rien comparé à la concurrence. Encore une fois de plus, l’innovation digitale marque un point.

L’innovation digitale ? - image GeekWorkers - 3
Le point commun de toutes ces entreprises : L’innovation digitale est portée par les dirigeants . Par exemple, elle produit
30 000 véhicules par mois contre 8 500 000 véhicules par an chez le groupe Toyota, mais c’est cette innovation digitale qui l’a placé au centre de l’intérêt des investisseurs et sa valorisation à dépasser celle des plus gros constructeurs mondiaux en quelques années. C’est toujours grâce à ce concept que plusieurs concurrents ont de l’admiration pour Tesla. Certains affirment même que Tesla est en avance par rapport à eux, à l’instar de Markus Duessman, PDG d’Audi qui dit que : “Tesla a deux ans d’avance en termes d’architecture informatique et logicielle, ainsi que dans le domaine de la conduite autonome”. Le point commun de toutes ces entreprises :
L’innovation digitale est portée par les dirigeants.

Pourquoi faut- il se mettre à l’innovation digitale ?

Avec l’apparition des jeunes startups, l’indice de vulnérabilité à la disruption de plusieurs entreprises adeptes de la “vieille école” est flagrant. En effet, les startups ont généralement des prédispositions à appliquer les principes de l’innovation digitale en raison de leur organisation agile. L’agilité est un état d’esprit indissociable de l’innovation numérique. Un risque de disruption significatif est en train de se former non seulement au niveau des PME suisses, mais aussi à l’échelle du pays en comparaison international. La Suisse aurait 20 ans de retard et cela pourrait engendrer des conséquences catastrophiques pour les entreprises qui ne se rallient pas au “mouvement”. 
L’innovation digitale ? - image GeekWorkers - 5

Des études ont montré que 63% des entreprises dans 82 pays (dont la Suisse) sont exposées à des risques de disruption élevés et 44% sont vulnérables et pourraient disparaître si elles n’amorcent pas rapidement leur transformation digitale.

L’absence de digitalisation fera disparaître plusieurs entreprises, d’ici une dizaine d’années. Elles auront un champ d’action beaucoup plus restreint et pourront de moins en moins cibler leur clientèle. Car les clients eux se digitalisent beaucoup plus
rapidement. Grâce à l’innovation numérique, tout devient instantané et traçable. Les utilisateurs auront donc tendance à se pencher vers une entreprise moderne. Les entreprises “traditionnelles” seront littéralement effacées du monde des affaires.
Actuellement, 4,79 milliards de personnes sont connectées à internet. En 10 ans, ce chiffre a grimpé de 166%. Cela démontre qu’on le veuille ou pas, que la transformation digitale est un must si on veut rester dans le game !
Certes, l’innovation digitale a fait chuter certaines activités comme le secteur primaire (agriculture, pêche…), mais elle a également fait émerger le secteur tertiaire (vente, service…). Pour le cas de la Suisse, le secteur tertiaire représente actuellement plus de 75% de l’économie. Cette croissance a créé un bon nombre de nouveaux emplois qui n’existaient pas auparavant. Ce phénomène a été appelé par l’économiste Joseph Schumpeter au cours du XXe siècle : la “destruction créatrice”.
Ouvrir chat